Lend a Helping Hand

Posted: February 28, 2012 in Uncategorized

This past weekend I had the opportunity to travel to the Missouri Angus Futurity in Columbia, MO. I have been in attendance at this event for the past 7 years and is always something I look forward to. The cattle were of high caliber and it is always great to reminisce with old friends. My roommate, an old friend from high school, my brother, and myself headed to Columbia on Friday after class. My roommate and my buddy from high school were headed to Columbia to participate in an artificial insemination course that was offered by Genex.

The purpose for my brother and I going to Columbia this weekend was to lend a hand to some good friends. Towards the end of January some of our Angus friends had an unfortunate and completely unexplainable encounter. Those of you involved with the breed know exactly what I am speaking of. Typically we go to sales on the weekend to work, but that is what helps us get through college. This weekend was different, this was about helping out our friends and neighbors that we love. If something this tragic happened to me, I know that there are many friends out there that would do the same for us. They were not able to take the cattle to the show due to chores at home, so another good friend lent a hand to take them to Columbia and tend to them for the weekend. My brother and I only went up on Friday to assist in fitting the cattle on Saturday.

This was a weekend to remember. The cattle showed well, with 3 out of 4 of them winning their division, as well as the reserve champion bull. Sunday was the sale, and they all sold extremely well! This story just reminds me of why it is important to lend a hand to a friend in need, because you know they would do the same for you!

Comments
  1. sounds like a good time, so what was this that happened in january with angus?

Leave a Reply

